Skip to main content

Latest news & events

NIC 'Roads for the Future' competition launch

Plans for a Roads for the Future competition were announced as part of the Chancellor’s Budget statement in November 2017


Those wishing to enter have two months in which to submit their ideas, which should follow three broad themes:


  • The design of roads and related infrastructure – how will existing roads need to be adapted to meet the needs of new driverless cars?
  • Traffic management – how will key features such as traffic lights and other methods of traffic control need to adapt to meet the needs of different vehicle types?; and
  • Road rules and regulations – how should current restrictions, for example speed limits, and parking and loading rules, be updated for this new environment?


The competition jury will select the five best entries to go through to a second round, with each of these given up to £30,000 to develop their ideas further over a three-month period. The winning entry will then be announced later this year.


Further information


Further details of the Roads for the Future competition can be found here.


Anyone wishing to enter the competition has until 14 March 2018 to do so


The competition jury are:


  • Bridget Rosewell OBE (Competition Chair) – Commissioner, National Infrastructure Commission
  • Sir John Armitt – deputy chairman, National Infrastructure Commission
  • Jim O’Sullivan – chief executive of Highways England
  • Chris Holmes, Senior Manager, Jaguar Land Rover Research team
  • Laura Shoaf – Managing Director of Transport for the West Midlands
  • Dame Julia King, Baroness Brown of Cambridge – Committee on Climate Change
  • Professor Natasha Merat – Institute for Transport Studies, University of Leeds


Media enquiries: please contact Coast Communications 01579 352600 | VAT number: 337 0556 05 | Website by Cosmic